Alf Hicks and the Biscuit Barrel Award
Alf Hicks

Alf Hicks

Alf was born in Ivy Cottage opposite the school in 1908. He started work when he was seven and still at school looking after cows grazing at the roadside.  He left school in 1921 and did farm work before going into the grocery trade at Woollards shop.

After three years there he decided to learn to drive and went to Denston Hall as under chauffeur. The cars there were kept so clean Alf had to polish the sumps.   After leaving the village for a year or two to follow the grocery trade he returned to Wickhambrook to work for Justin Brooke first as a tree planter and later as a salesman.

Winner of Biscuit Barrel Award

Winner of the 2017 Alf Hicks Biscuit Barrel Award


Maggie Elers, the recipient of the Alf Hicks Biscuit Barrel award 2017.

Maggie has given many years of time and effort to worthwhile causes and events in the village. To name but a few she has helped run a playgroup, was a member of the Community Association helping to run village events such as the firework display and helped organise dances raising money for the village hall. Maggie has made costumes for the Wickhambrook Players pantomime and carol concerts and most recently is a stalwart member of the Carnival Committee, reviving this annual event which has proved to be an ongoing success every summer.

Maggie was the unanimous choice by the Parish Council for the award this year and the photograph shows Chairman Paul Couzens with Maggie who will hold the Biscuit Barrel for twelve months and have her name added to the list of previous worthy holders of the award.

The presentation was made at the Annual Parish Meeting on 18 May 2017.

Wickhambrook News and Events

Adobe pdf document Devolution Notes from County Cllr Mary Evans

Fish and Chips at The Greyhound

Fish & Chips
Every Tuesday

Fish & chips van every Tuesday from 4.30pm - 6.30pm parked at The Greyhound car park

Wickhambrook Horticultural Society

Monday 4th December
The next Horticultural Society meeting will be on Monday 4th December at 7.30pm in the WI Hall.  Our Festive Quiz Evening is a great evening, everyone welcome.

Night of Comedy at The Greyhound

Night of Comedy
Friday 8th December

Village Idiots in association with The Greyhound present A Night of Comedy

see poster for tickets and info

W.I. Wickhambrook

12th December 2017

The next W.I. meeting is our Christmas Party with entertainment by Gillian Grinham ' An Evening with Joyce Grenfell'. Our meetings are held at 7.30pm in the WI Hall and all ladies from the village and district will be made very welcome. Just turn up at the WI Hall if you would like to join in. Information is always available from Hilary (01440 821713) or Veronica (01440 820791) for all our activities.

W.I. Tea Party W.I. Tea Party

The next W.I. Tea Party will be on the 16th December. All Welcome.  Come and join us from 2pm till 4pm for Tea, Coffee and Cake £1.50.  All profits to a local charity or group and for our Denman Bursary.

World's Biggest Coffee Morning
Thank You

I would like to send a BIG THANK YOU to everyone who attended and so generously supported our 26th annual Coffee Morning recently. The event was part of Macmillan Cancer World's Biggest Coffee Morning and was a wonderful morning, with over 160 people attending.

The total raised so far for Macmillan is £1158.
A brilliant effort for our small village!!!

Special thanks to my team of helpers without whom the morning would not be possible, Karen Horne, Deidre Smith, Jean and Stephen Coe, Dorothy Dunnet, Jill Scott and Lorraine Brown. Not forgetting my brilliant husband Dave and Belinda Lee from Chocoholics.

With grateful thanks for all the donations of money, cakes and the interesting variety of 58 raffle prizes and to the W.I. for the free use of their hall for the morning.
Everyone was so very generous as always. Thank you!!!

There will be a final total in December after Chocoholics orders are completed.

» view photos here

Val Orange.

Falls Prevention Exercise
Every Tuesday

Seated and standing strength and balance exercises to maintain and prolong independence. This new class aims to increase mobility, flexibility, muscle strength and improve balance, with the opportunity after for refreshment and a chance to socialise with other members of the class.  10.30am to 11.20am at Wickhambrook Pavillion.  Pay as you go, £4.00 a class.  See poster for more information


Help find Rudy

Rudy is a 12 year old german shepherd mix that went missing from Braintree back in February. He was spotted in the Wickhambrook and it would really help to make people aware of him and hopefully reunite him with his family?

» Please see the full poster here with additional information

Right Driver

for more details visit

History of Alf Hicks

Following the Second World War which he spent with the N.A.A.F.I., having failed is medical for active service, he joined Pearl Assurance Co. as their local agent.

Lay preacher at the Congregational Church, officer in the Boys Brigade, Footballer, Cricketer, founder member of the Community Council and Local History Society, Alf was all of these as well as being the village reporter for the East Anglian Daily Times and Bury Free Press.

Alf’s death in 1995 left the village so much poorer but perhaps the erecting of the Village Sign, for so long Alf’s dream, will be a fitting memorial to one of natures true gentlemen.

The Alf Hicks Biscuit Barrel Award ...

Alf Hicks Biscuit Barrel

The Alf Hicks Biscuit Barrel Award

In 1991 the Barrel was presented to Alf as a gift in recognition of his service to the Village. Alf kept the Barrel for a while but then returned it to the Parish Council with a request that it be awarded annually for outstanding service.

In 1998 the Parish Council decided that, as the Barrel has to be returned at the end of the year, the recipient should also receive an award certificate. The first certificate was awarded to Michael Medcalf. Subsequently certificates were presented to all the previous recipients of the Barrel.

yeaR Recipient
2017 Maggie Elers
2016 Val Orange
2014 Diane Haywood
2013 Thelma Farrow
2012 Jim Field
2011 Dorothy Anderson
2010 Roger Alexander
2009 Steve Taylor
2008 Jim Fieldsend
2007 Peter and Pam Miller
2006 Julian Gardner
2005 Barbara Merritt
2004 Ivy Haygreen
2003 David Turner
2002 Percy Nunn
2001 John Bean
2000 Brenda Fairhall
1999 Dr and Mrs Forsythe
1998 Michael Medcalf
1997 Colin Bird
1996 Ron and Edna Penhaligan
1995 Derek Pope
1994 Peter Bayman
1993 Gladys Alexander
1992 Gladys Bishop