## Co-option of Councillors

Wickhambrook is allocated 8 Parish Councillors who are elected for a period of four years or co-opted to fill vacancies as necessary. The most recent Parish and District Elections took place on 4th May last year. Cllr Sarah Pugh was re-elected as our District Councillor to West Suffolk Council, and four of our Councillors stood and were returned uncontested:

Cllr Paul Couzens Cllr Mike Lavelle Cllr Sandy Thwaite and Cllr Tracey Turner

Cllr Mel Karunaratne was co-opted onto the parish council at its September meeting (23.09.04), and the parish council sadly noted the resignation of Sandy Thwaite at its January meeting this year.

Cllrs Andrea Grimes and Linda Smith were co-opted at the February meeting.

This leaves two vacancies on the parish council, all of which may be filled by co-option.

At the Annual Meeting on 18<sup>th</sup> May, the parish council adopted a new policy on co-option of councillors, providing clear guidance on the process, an application form and job description (attached as **Appendix A**).

The clerk has advertised the vacancies on the parish notice board, the website, items published to Facebook, the parish newsletter, Parish Pump and Wickhambrook Scene.

The clerk has been notified of one expression of interest, Kevin Grimes and being eligible, and not disqualified from serving as a councillor.

## **Recommendation:**

That Mr Kevin Grimes be co-opted on to Wickhambrook Parish Council to serve as a Councillor forthwith.